SAUERESSIG e.GEN

e.GEN, Press
e.GEN
©Unsplash
©Unsplash

New digital innovations through emergence

As an alliance of experts from the printing, packaging and converting industries, SAUERESSIG e.GEN creates digital experiences for a vibrant future. The newly created business unit of the SAUERESSIG Group combines intelligent systems and services under a common umbrella brand. “The creation of the new business unit with a focus on digital and innovative color and software solutions enables us to respond faster to the diverse needs of our customers,” comments Christian Groh, Business Unit Director e.GEN.

As a leading international supplier of services along the prepress chain as well as rotary tools for gravure and flexo printing processes, embossing rollers and cutting and creasing tools, the SAUERESSIG Group has decades of comprehensive expertise. SAUERESSIG works on forward-looking research projects and invests in the development of intelligent workflows and digital solutions. As an innovation leader for special machine construction in the field of future-oriented battery and energy storage technology, individual solutions are developed for pioneers of tomorrow.

With the new business unit e.GEN, SAUERESSIG is strengthening its developments in forward-looking technologies and advanced digital solutions. “The name e.GEN was chosen quite carefully,” explains Christian Groh. “e.GEN is derived from the word emergence and can be understood as the appearance of previously non-existent characteristics or structures of a system. An example is the swarming behavior of birds.” A bird alone does not form a swarm. However, it can trigger swarming behavior when many birds come together. New vibrant structures emerge that were neither visible nor predictable before. “We see ourselves as a collective of makers, problem solvers, visionaries and communicators to rethink what has been traditional and create a smarter future,” adds the department head.

Under the umbrella of e.GEN, c.INKTEC has been adding a new space for creative ideas and product innovations to the SAUERESSIG Group portfolio for three years now. The Innovation Center at the Vreden site helps with any kind of packaging improvement and offers a wide range of laboratory and testing facilities. By using laboratory machines, inks for gravure, flexo and offset printing can be created and tested. Well-known brands and experts from the tobacco and packaging industries have been using the services and developments for a long time. A key goal of c.INKTEC is to make the supply chain more sustainable and transparent through digital value creation and intelligent systems and services, while avoiding costs and ways that are currently one of the pain points for customers. The use of the cloud-based software solution c.CLOUD is of great importance in this context. It handles digital color communication between all stakeholders and provides complete transparency in terms of consistent color management.

However, the portfolio not only includes solutions that digitize this communication, color becomes a living reality. Christian Groh emphasizes: “We make light exciting by believing in the power of virtual technologies. Our virtual reality solution n.LIGHT takes digital color and design communication of packaging and decorative surfaces to a new dimension.” n.LIGHT provides the ability to view packaging or surfaces, as well as embossed structures and material effects, in a configurable environment. With color-calibrated virtual reality glasses, a virtual 3D mock-up can be experienced in true color and down to the smallest detail as early as the design and prepress phase.

Digitization will transform technology into novel solutions. This is also demonstrated by the flexible and intelligent software services tailored at e.GEN to the needs and processes of the packaging, printing and converting industries. Based on current market requirements, customer-specific brand guidelines and product-relevant content, the d.MATE software solution creates intelligent templates for the automatic generation of standardized artwork. The uniform management of brand products through intelligent artwork templates not only enables the automatic creation of multiple variants, but also the simplification of workflows through a central portal.

SAUERESSIG e.GEN attaches great importance to agile structures and future-oriented processes in order to flexibly manage customer projects and develop solutions for individual challenges. The common goal: to break new ground to enable a smarter future through emergent collaboration.

SAUERESSIG e.GEN

e.GEN, Presse
e.GEN
©Unsplash
©Unsplash

Neue digitale Innovationen durch Emergenz

Als Zusammenschluss von Experten aus der Druck-, Verpackungs- und Convertingindustrie schafft SAUERESSIG e.GEN digitale Erlebnisse für eine lebendige Zukunft. Die neu geschaffene Business Unit der SAUERESSIG Group vereint intelligente Systeme und Dienstleistungen unter einer gemeinsamen Dachmarke. „Die Gründung der neuen Business Unit mit dem Fokus auf digitale und innovative Farb- und Softwarelösungen ermöglicht es uns, schneller auf die vielfältigen Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden reagieren zu können.“ sagt Christian Groh, Business Unit Director e.GEN.

Als ein international führender Anbieter von Dienstleistungen entlang der Druckvorstufe sowie von Rotationswerkzeugen für Tiefdruck- und Flexodruckverfahren, Prägewalzen und Schneid- und Rillwerkzeugen, verfügt die SAUERESSIG Group seit Jahrzehnten über eine umfassende Expertise. SAUERESSIG arbeitet an zukunftsweisenden Forschungsprojekten und investiert in die Entwicklung intelligenter Workflows und digitaler Lösungen. Als Innovationsführer für den Sondermaschinenbau im Bereich zukunftsweisender Batterie- und Energiespeichertechnik werden individuelle Lösungen für Pioniere von morgen entwickelt.

SAUERESSIG verstärkt mit der neuen Business Unit e.GEN die Entwicklungen in zukunftsweisende Technologien und fortschrittliche digitale Lösungen. „Der Name e.GEN wurde ganz bewusst gewählt“, erklärt Christian Groh. „e.GEN leitet sich aus dem Wort Emergenz ab und kann als das Auftreten von bislang nicht existierenden Eigenschaften oder Strukturen eines Systems verstanden werden. Ein Beispiel ist das Schwarmverhalten von Vögeln“ Ein Vogel alleine bildet keinen Schwarm. Er kann allerdings Schwarmverhalten auslösen, wenn viele Vögel zusammenkommen. Es entstehen neue lebendige Strukturen, die vorher weder sichtbar noch vorhersehbar waren. „Wir verstehen uns als ein Kollektiv aus Machern, Problemlösern, Visionären und Kommunikatoren, um das bislang Traditionelle neu zu denken und eine intelligentere Zukunft zu schaffen“, fügt der Abteilungsleiter hinzu.

Unter dem Dach von e.GEN erweitert c.INKTEC seit nunmehr drei Jahren das Portfolio der SAUERESSIG Group um einen neuen Raum für kreative Ideen und Produktinnovationen. Das Innovation Center am Standort Vreden hilft bei jeder Art von Verpackungsverbesserung und bietet eine breite Palette an Labor- und Testeinrichtungen. Durch die Nutzung von Labormaschinen können Farben für den Tief-, Flexo- und Offsetdruck erstellt und getestet werden. Namhafte Marken und Experten aus der Tabak- und Verpackungsbranche nutzen die Dienstleistungen und Entwicklungen seit langem. Ein wesentliches Ziel von c.INKTEC ist es, die Lieferkette durch digitale Wertschöpfung und intelligente Systeme und Services nachhaltig und transparenter zu gestalten und dabei Kosten und Wege zu vermeiden, die derzeit einer der Leidpunkte für Kunden sind. Der Einsatz der cloudbasierten Softwarelösung c.CLOUD ist dabei von großer Bedeutung. Sie übernimmt die digitale Farbkommunikation zwischen allen Stakeholdern und bietet vollständige Transparenz in Bezug auf ein konsistentes Farbmanagement.

Das Portfolio umfasst allerdings nicht nur Lösungen, die diese Kommunikation digitalisieren, Farbe wird zu einer lebendigen Realität. Christian Groh betont: „Wir machen Licht spannend, indem wir an die Kraft virtueller Technologien glauben. Unsere Virtual-Reality-Lösung n.LIGHT bringt die digitale Farb- und Designkommunikation von Verpackungen und dekorativen Oberflächen in eine neue Dimension.“ n.LIGHT bietet die Möglichkeit, Verpackungen oder Oberflächen sowie Prägestrukturen und Materialeffekte in einer konfigurierbaren Umgebung zu betrachten. Mit farbkalibrierten Virtual-Reality-Brillen wird ein virtuelles 3D-Mock-up bereits in der Design- und Prepress-Phase farbgetreu und bis ins kleinste Detail erlebbar.

Die Digitalisierung wird Technologie in neuartige Lösungen verwandeln. Das zeigen auch die flexiblen und intelligenten Software-Services, die bei e.GEN auf die Bedürfnisse und Prozesse der Verpackungs-, Druck- und Convertingindustrie zugeschnitten sind. Auf Basis aktueller Marktanforderungen, kundenspezifischer Markenrichtlinien und produktrelevanter Inhalte erstellt die Softwarelösung d.MATE intelligente Templates für die automatische Erstellung von standardisierten Artworks. Die einheitliche Verwaltung von Markenprodukten durch intelligente Artwork-Vorlagen ermöglicht nicht nur die automatische Erstellung vielfältiger Varianten, sondern auch die Vereinfachung von Arbeitsabläufen durch ein zentrales Portal.

SAUERESSIG e.GEN legt viel Wert auf agile Strukturen und zukunftsorientierte Prozesse, um Kundenprojekte flexibel zu managen und Lösungen für individuelle Herausforderungen zu entwickeln. Das gemeinsame Ziel: neue Wege zu beschreiten, um durch emergente Zusammenarbeit eine intelligentere Zukunft zu ermöglichen.